Understanding of Domain extensions will help you take right decision in buying/selling domains.

Original gTLDs

Original gTLDs (generic top-level domains) refer to the first set of generic domain extensions that were established during the early days of the internet. These gTLDs were introduced in the 1980s and have played a crucial role in organizing and identifying websites on the World Wide Web. Originally, there were six generic top-level domains.

Examples are com, edu, org, net, int and gov

To know more read What is Original gTLDs blog.

ccTLDs – Country Code TLDs

ccTLDs, or Country Code Top-Level Domains, are a specific category of top-level domains (TLDs) on the internet that are associated with individual countries or territories. Each ccTLD is a two-letter code that represents a particular country or geographic region. These domain extensions are used to signify the connection of a website or online entity to a specific country or territory. Some examples of ccTLDs include:

.us – United States

.uk – United Kingdom

.de – Germany

.in India

.jp – Japan

cn – China

.au – Australia

.ca – Canada

New gTLDs

New gTLDs, or New Generic Top-Level Domains, are a group of top-level domains (TLDs) that were introduced as part of the expansion of the domain name system by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN). These new gTLDs represent an expansion beyond the original set of gTLDs (such as .com, .org, .net, etc.) and the country code TLDs (ccTLDs) associated with specific countries.

The introduction of new gTLDs began in 2013, and it marked a significant change in the internet’s naming system. Instead of being limited to a handful of familiar domain extensions, website owners and businesses now have access to a much broader range of domain options.

Examples of New gTLDs include blog, app, guru, shop, tech, music, travel.

Country Code Second Level Domains

Country Code Second Level Domains (ccSLDs) are domain names that are derived from country code top-level domains (ccTLDs) and are used to further categorize websites within a specific country or territory. While ccTLDs are two-letter domain extensions representing individual countries or regions (e.g., .us for the United States, .uk for the United Kingdom), ccSLDs are additional labels placed to the left of the ccTLD.

The structure of ccSLDs varies from country to country, and not all countries implement them. In some cases, ccSLDs are organized based on geographical or administrative subdivisions within the country, while in others, they may have specific purposes or restrictions. The format for ccSLDs is typically as follows:


Here are a few examples of ccSLDs: co.uk, org.uk, gov.uk, ac.uk, com.au, org.au, edu.au, com.ca, gov.ca